The Architect Registration Exam (ARE) is a seven part exam meant to test your competency to practice architecture.  It is intended assess your ability to protect the health, safety, and welfare of your clients and the public.  In order to begin taking the ARE, you must complete your education requirement, establish an NCARB record, and enroll in IDP.  These tests may be taken in any order and may be completed concurrently with IDP.  There is a 5-year rolling clock on these exams, meaning that you must pass all seven sections within a five-year period.  If you fail to do so, you must retake any exams you passed more than five years before your last exam.

ARE Exam Sections

Programming, Planning, & Pactice

Site Planning & Design

Building Design & Construction Systems

Schematic Design

Structural Systems

Building Systems

Construction Documents & Services